Bolivian Pantanal


Located in Southeastern Bolivia, with the cities of Santa Cruz de La Sierra and Puerto Suárez as the main accesses to this region, the Bolivian Pantanal is also known as Gran Pantanal. Part of its areas is protected by the Otuquis National Park, with approximately one million hectares. Bolivian government demarcated it in1997.  Another protected portion is on the border with Brazil, in the integrated management area of San Matías, which is home to the 26.5 km² of Bahia de Cáceres.

The coordination of this main protected area of the Bolivian Pantanal is in the department of Santa Cruz de La Sierra, the most populous city in Bolivia. The biome supports environmental services, such as regulating climate and flooding/drying, controlling soil fertility, biological control, maintenance of biodiversity, and a source of water, food and raw materials for the population, as well as the main productive activities (agricultural and livestock) that contribute to the region’s economy.

With 31,898.88 km2, Bolivian Pantanal registered 53 species of amphibians, 159 species of mammals, 98 species of reptiles, 656 species of birds, 325 species of fish, 1,030 species of butterflies and more than 3,500 species of superior plants. Many of which are highly threatened, such as the Marsh deer (Blastocerus dichotomus), the giant otter (Pteronura brasiliensis), and the Hyacinth macaw (Anodorhynchus hyacinthinus).

The main rivers of the northeastern region are the Tacavara and San Miguel, which unite and spread to form the Banhado de Otuquis, very close to the Paraguay and Negro rivers.